Guber Election: Seyi Makinde Re-elected as Oyo Governor

Governor Seyi Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared winner of the Oyo Governorship Election held on Saturday with a total of 563,756 votes.

The incumbent governor defeated his closest rival, Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC) by a wide margin.

-Advertisement- Inlandcontainer Shipping Agency

He won 31 out of the 33 Local Government Areas in the state in the election which was contested by 15 other candidates.

The state returning officer for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Adebayo Bamire, the Vice Chancellor of Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile Ife, announced at the INEC headquarters in Ibadan that Makinde garnered 563,756 votes to beat Folarin, who polled 256,685.

Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party came a distant third with 38,357 votes.

Olamide Osho

Olamide Osho is a journalist covering the maritime, aviation and crime beats with special interest in sports and public relations. He is also a songwriter and a football fan passionate about Arsenal FC. You can contact him via Olamideosho@journalng.com.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button